On the basis of material-characteristic peaks and spectra the ingredients of a test specimen can be determined via a comprehensive spectra library.

Fourier Transform Infrared (FTIR) Spectroscopy

Fourier Transform Infrared (FTIR) Spectroscopy

Possible applications:

  • Determination of the composition of plastic material such as mold mass of electronic components, tray material and tape & reel substances
  • Detection of the water percentage of plastic materials
  • Analysis of volatile components and substances
  • Determination, evaluation and comparison of the aging status of organic materials

Within the scope of comprehensive cooperation with technical colleges and universities we developed an economical procedure for the analysis and evaluation of organic materials and substances in connection with our services for long-term conservation of electronic components. On the basis of outgassing and degradation processes occurring during conservation and storage it was our goal to cyclically evaluate the organic substances of components regarding the aging resistance and changes during storage and conservation processes.

Corresponding examples are mold material of electronic components, plastic foil (DryPackfoil) and mainly the synthetics of component containers (trays, tapes).

Result is a Fourier Transform Infrared Spectroscopy (FTIR-Spectroscopy) with a unique database system developed by ourselves, enabling the generation of a qualitative statement and comparability with respect to the used materials within shortest time.

On the basis of material-characteristic peaks and spectra the ingredients of a test specimen can be determined via a comprehensive spectra library. Aging processes or water inclusions can be detected based on intensity alterations of the single peaks.

When comparing the spectra in a specified period of one year for instance, an indicator for the progression of aging processes in the material is provided.

Anhand material-charakteristischer Peaks und Spektren kann man mit Hilfe einer umfangreichen Spektrenbibliothek die Inhaltsstoffe eines Prüflings bestimmen.

Fourier-Transformations-Infrarot Spektroskopie

Fourier-Transformations-Infrarot Spektroskopie

Mögliche Anwendungsbereiche:

  • Ermittlung der Zusammensetzung der Kunststoffkomponenten von beispielsweise der Mold-Masse elektronischer Bauteile, Tray- und Tape & Reel-Materialien
  • Bestimmung des Wasseranteils im Kunststoff
  • Bestimmung flüchtiger Komponenten und Bestandteile
  • Bestimmung, Bewertung und Vergleich des Alterungszustandes organischer Materialien

Im Rahmen umfangreicher Zusammenarbeit mit Hochschulen und Universitäten haben wir im Zusammenhang mit unserer Dienstleistung zur Langzeitkonservierung elektronischer Bauteile ein wirtschaftliches Verfahren zur Analyse und Bewertung organischer Materialien und Substanzen entwickelt. Ziel war es, die im Rahmen einer Konservierung und Lagerung stattfindenden Ausgasungs- und Zersetzungsprozesse organischer Komponenten, welche im Lagerprozess vorzufinden sind, hinsichtlich Alterungsbeständigkeit und Veränderung während des Lager- und Konservierungsprozesses zyklisch zu bewerten.

Beispiele hierfür sind die Mold-Materialien elektronischer Bauteile, Kunststoff-Folien (Dry-Pack-Folien) und vor allem die Kunststoffe der Bauteilbehältnisse (Trays, Gurte).

Ergebnis ist eine Fourier-Transformations-Infrarot Spektroskopie (FTIR-Spektroskopie) mit einem einmaligen in unserem Hause selbst entwickelten Datenbanksystem, welches es uns in kürzester Zeit ermöglicht eine qualitative Aussage und Vergleichbarkeit hinsichtlich der eingesetzten Materialien zu erzeugen.

Anhand material-charakteristischer Peaks und Spektren kann man mit Hilfe einer umfangreichen Spektrenbibliothek die Inhaltsstoffe eines Prüflings bestimmen. Alterungsprozesse oder Wassereinlagerungen zeigen sich durch Intensitätsänderung der einzelnen Peaks.

Vergleicht man die Spektren in einem festgelegten Zeitraum von z. B. einem Jahr, erhält man einen Indikator für das Fortschreiten von Alterungsprozessen im Material.