Via Special soft etching technologies failures and problem areas of components or printed circuit boards are visible and tangible.

Microsection Microsections 2 Microsections 3

Possible applications:

  • Determination of failure mechanisms of electronic components
  • Detection of layer thicknesses at component pins
  • Analysis of solderings, plated through holes, bond areas
  • Identification of cracks and other damages, e.g. based on the soldering process or mechanical stress
  • Detection of delamination in printed circuit boards

Microsections / cross sections

As soon as failures in components or printed circuit boards cannot be detected via visual light microscopy or to also analyse and document aging processes the preparation of microsections is a necessary and meaningful alternative option in many cases.

Along a defined line a highly precise cut through the specimen is generated and embedded into special resin afterwards. Based on subsequent measures of grinding and polishing with sample-specific formula, to be performed with the utmost care, a surface meeting highest demands is originated.

Special soft etching technologies prepare the test specimen for the subsequent examination via light microscope or scanning electron microscope. Hence, failures and problem areas of components or printed circuit boards are visible and tangible.

Anhand speziell schonender Ätztechniken können Problemzonen von Bauteilen mit der Schliffbilderstellung sichtbar gemacht werden.

Schliffbilderstellung Schliffbilderstellung 2 Schliffbilderstellung 3

Mögliche Anwendungsbereiche:

  • Bestimmung von Ausfallmechanismen an elektronischen Bauteilen
  • Ermittlung von Schichtdicken an Bauteilanschlüssen
  • Untersuchung von Lötungen, Durchkontaktierungen, Bondstellen
  • Feststellung von Rissen und anderen Beschädigungen z. B. durch den Lötprozess oder durch mechanische Belastung
  • Erkennung von Leiterplatten-Delamination

Schliffbilderstellung

Sobald auf visuellem lichtmikroskopischem Weg Fehler an Bauteilen oder Leiterplatten nicht fest zustellen sind oder aber auch um Alterungsprozesse zu analysieren und zu dokumentieren, ist in vielen Fällen die Erstellung von Schliffbildern eine notwendige und sinnvolle Alternative.

Entlang einer definierten Linie wird ein hochpräziser Schnitt durch den Prüfling erstellt und dieser anschließend in Spezialharz eingebettet. In den nachfolgenden, akribisch durchzuführenden Schleif- und Polierschritten mit probenspezifischen Rezepten entsteht eine höchsten Ansprüchen genügende Oberfläche.

Spezielle schonende Ätztechniken bereiten den Prüfling auf die nachfolgende Untersuchung mittels Licht- oder Rasterelektronenmikroskop vor. Fehler und Problemzonen von Bauteilen oder Leiterplatten werden so sichtbar und greifbar.